Gonzalez, Reed head 8-person Hall of Fame class

Adjust Comment Print

The 2019 class included cornerbacks Champ Bailey and Ty Law, safety Ed Reed, tight end Tony Gonzalez, center Kevin Mawae, contributors Pat Bowen and Gil Brandt, and safety Johnny Robinson, who was voted in as the senior finalist. Bowlen's Broncos have had as many Super Bowl appearances as losing seasons - seven - since Bowlen purchased the team in 1984.

The easiest offensive selection on the board and a no-doubt, first-ballot Hall of Famer, Gonzalez is one of the two greatest tight ends in National Football League history right now. So most quarterbacks simply avoided him.

"You know what - Falcons, honestly, they made my career to come here".

During his time with the Chiefs, he set franchise records for receptions, receiving yards, receiving touchdowns and 100-yard games, and thousands of fans still today wear his jersey.

Bailey was a 12-time Pro Bowl selection and a three-time All-Pro. He had 57 career interceptions as he made six AFL All-Star Games, and late in his career played in a Pro Bowl and was All-NFL in 1970. He became the second player in NFL history to lead the league in interceptions three times, in 2004, 2008 and 2010. Bailey played ten seasons in Denver and five with the Washington Redskins eventually retiring as a Bronco in 2015. "He was an integral part of three Super Bowl championship teams and we are honored to have another Patriot take his rightful place in Canton".

Italy blocks European Union statement on recognizing Venezuela's Guaido, sources say
A growing list of 38 countries has now recognized Guaido, including non-EU European nations Kosovo, Iceland and Albania. The Government, it said, will "completely revise bilateral relations with those countries from now on".

Law is the first member of the Patriots' 18-year dynasty to actually be elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The board of selectors met for 7½ hours Saturday ahead of Super Bowl LIII.

Mawae, an eight-time Pro Bowler, and two-time first-team All-Pro was the NFL's All-Decade center for the 2000s. Blocked for 1,000-yard rusher in 13 of his 16 seasons and five different running backs (Chris Warren, 2; Martin, 7; Travis Henry, 1; LenDale White, 1; and Chris Johnson, 2) ...

All told, Mawae blocked for 13 1,000-yard rushers during his sixteen seasons and drew an huge amount of praise from Parcells as a result.

Brandt's eye for talent helped the Dallas Cowboys post 20 consecutive winning seasons (1966-85) during his tenure from 1960-88. Helped Jets to division title and championship game appearance in first season in NY, 1998 ...