Lagos LG poll: 'Suspected thugs hijack electoral materials in Odi-Olowo LCDA'

Adjust Comment Print

Governor Akinwunmi Ambode led the pack of All Progressives Congress (APC) chieftains who won their various polling unit during yesterday's council election across Lagos State.

Some party officials attributed the low participation to inadequate electoral awareness on the part of the Lagos state Independent Electoral Commission ( LASIEC ).

Ambode, on Saturday said local government elections would engender participatory governance and revive belief in the electoral process at the third tier of government.

Also in the councillorship election, APC polled 300 votes while the PDP, Labour and Accord Party all polled zero votes.

"So far, so good, from the reports I have received from all the other parts of Lagos State, we are pleased with what is going on".

He said that electing credible leaders would enable the residents to reap the dividends of democracy.

"You know council election has not taken place in the state in the last five years; we are happy that we are able to do this and enhance democratic values that we are trying to build in the country".

Harmanpreet Kaur, Jhulan Goswami Say Final Against England Won't be Easy
As her father Harmandar Singh Bhullar said her daughter's love for cricket ensured that she used to play with boys of her age. The cameras caught Harmanpreet yelling at the other player for the mistake.

"I am basically disappointed because the turn out is low".

"On no account should anybody be seen disobeying this order as the Lagos State Police Command has made adequate provisions for effective security at all polling stations and collation centres".

Of the 51 votes cast, the APC scored 44 for chairmanship and 43 for councillorship positions, leaving the PDP with paltry six votes for both positions being contested in the Local Government elections.

Results from Ward C, polling unit 21, Ojoniyun, Apapa Road, Lagos Mainland - chairmanship - AA- Nil; Accord-1; APC-16; LP-16; PDP-5; UDP-Nil; councillorship - AA - Nil; ACCORD- Nil; APC-17; LP-167; PDP-Nil.

APC also won in Iwerekun II polling unit, in Ibeju-Lekki Local Government Area, where the lawmaker representing Lagos East in the Senate, Senator Gbenga Ashafa, hails from.

Twelve political parties are participating the election.

Also, in Badagry LG, APC won the chairmanship election by polling 3,990 to defeat Accord Party which got 1,597 votes and PDP, 1,281 votes.