NYPD to deploy drone over Times Square New Year's Eve festivities

Adjust Comment Print

The New Year's Eve ball that will be lit and sent up a 130-foot pole atop One Times Square to mark the start of the 2019 new year in Times Square, New York. This year, the event will be co-hosted by Jenny McCarthy Wahlberg.

The unusual, long year that was 2018 is finally coming to a close, and there's no better way to say goodbye than by watching the Times Square Ball Drop. New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio stated recently that as many as two million visitors are expected to visit Times Square for the New Year's Eve ceremony.

Who's performing: Look out for performances from Christina Aguilera, Florida Georgia Line, Kelsea Ballerini, Maren Morris, Kane Brown, Lauren Alaina, Post Malone, New Kids on the Block, Halsey and others.

CPJ, the event's official charity honoree, is a New York City-based nonprofit that has established itself as a major proponent of press freedom throughout the world, continually monitoring and advocating for journalists under attack.

Noting his thanks, Tim Tompkins, president of the Times Square Alliance, said the organization is "honored to have such a respected group of media entities and journalists join us to #CelebratePressFreedom as we ring in the New Year".

NYPD Outlines Security Measures for New Year's Eve
Organizers test the Times Square Crystal Ball before Midnight

Watch the live stream below! USA Today is broadcasting events from the around the world.

Who's performing: Jason Aldean, Florence + the Machine, Robin Thicke and others will be performing. ABC correspondent Martha Raddatz, NBC Nightly News anchor Lester Holt, CNN New Day host Alisyn Camerota, and Fox News anchor Jon Scott are among those TV news personalities who will participate. "You grow up watching it on TV, you see all the excitement".

After parting ways with comedian Kathy Griffin, journalist Anderson Cooper and Bravo producer Andy Cohen took over the reins of hosting CNN's New Year's special. Beginning at 8:00 p.m. EST, the broadcast will continue until 1:05 a.m. EST on Tuesday morning. The livestream can be found at CNN.com, CNN's mobile apps or on the CNNgo apps for Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire, Chromecast and Android TV.

Stream live on: Facebook, Twitter and the Times Square New Year's Eve website.

At 12:30 a.m. EST, CNN hosts Brooke Baldwin and Don Lemon will count down to midnight with the Central Time Zone from New Orleans.

Mayweather floors Japan’s Nasukawa in just two minutes
Mayweather has made a career out of beating inferior fighters . "He is a great champion and a great fighter". Thank you very much, Mayweather players who fought . "Thank you to the fans you guys have been wonderful ".