Cryptographer dumps Chrome after auto sign-in feature lands

Adjust Comment Print

As noted by infosec and system architect expert Bálint, "Chrome is a Google Service that happens to include a Browser Engine". More information has become available since Green published his blog post, and Google has stressed that being signed in to Chrome doesn't automatically undermine someone's privacy, but the point is that people expect to know when something that could affect their privacy changes without a peep after years of use.

Green wrote: "If you didn't respect my lack of consent on the biggest user-facing privacy option in Chrome, (and didn't even notify me that you had stopped respecting it!) why should I trust any other consent option you give me?" While signing into your Google account in Chrome brings benefits, such as synchronising your bookmarks and passwords, there are some privacy reasons why you'd want to keep that information stored locally on your PC, rather than share it with Google.

In case you are one of those who want to continue using Chrome, but don't want Chrome to automatically log you in and sync your settings via your Google login, you can turn it off using the account-consistency Chrome flag.

On clear browser data dialog window, it clearly says that "you won't be singed out of your Google Account".

And this is where Green, who also said he had quit using Chrome, reserved some of his harshest criticism for Google. Previously, if you were signed in to Chrome, an icon would appear in the upper right-hand corner, indicating that you were signed in and sharing data.

According to Google, this update was made to prevent the confusion that was created when multiple shared devices were synced. Now they have to change the browser if they don't want Google to be tracked or sign out of Google after clearing cookies.

Trump Calls Kavanaugh Accusations ‘All False’ in Rambling Press Conference
In fact, he said, he'd be calling Xi on Thursday to check in following the question by a New York Times reporter. He said that he was looking forward to the accuser and Kavanaugh testifying during Thursday's Senate hearing.

But on the minus side for people concerned about privacy, Google can add that data to the vast amount that it already has about you through other linked accounts, such as Maps and YouTube.

The company acknowledged the changes but stressed that users needed to consent to a sync before their browser data could be transferred.

When he wrote about his issues with the change, he also anxious that Google's "Sync" feature was automatically being enabled, but it appears that's not the case. He is also a frequent critic of Facebook and Google's privacy practices.

We've learned that Android phones were sending location data to Google even when location history was disabled.

Now, with the revelations of this new auto-login mechanism, a large number of users are angry that this sneaky modification would allow Google to link that person's traffic to a specific browser and device with a higher degree of accuracy. While Google has been quick to respond and explain why these issues are occurring, they need to start giving control back to their users.

Comments