Salah, De Bruyne named on PFA team of the year

Adjust Comment Print

Manchester City superstar Kevin De Bruyne has admitted defeat in the running for the PFA Player of The Year award despite being a standout performer in their dominant Premier League title triumph. The defender has been a liability for Pep Guardiola's side at times and the fact that there's even a question over one of the City representatives says it all.

Midfielders Kevin de Bruyne and David Silva, defenders Nicolas Otamendi and Kyle Walker and striker Sergio Aguero represent the Premier League champions.

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah, with 30 league goals this season, was also included.

Leroy Sane is the only nominee for the Premier League Player of the Year prize not to make the team. The Egyptian's Anfield team-mates Roberto Firmino and Sadio Mane miss out though, much to the surprise of the Liverpool Echo.

Francis: Mourinho right criticising 'overindulgent' Man Utd players
It was a home defeat and it ensured the league title for their noisy neighbours. They didn't move well without the ball, they didn't move fast.

On Sunday, the overall victor of the PFA Player of the Year award will be unveiled, with De Bruyne, De Gea, Kane, Silva and Salah all nominated, along with City winger Leroy Sané, surprisingly omitted from the Team of the Year.

Tottenham were the next-best represented side thanks to striker Harry Kane, midfielder Christian Eriksen and centre-back Jan Vertonghen.

The PFA Awards ceremony will be held in London on Sunday.

David De Gea was the only Old Trafford star selected this year, meaning the chasing pack have closed the gap when it comes to PFA Team of the Year bragging rights over the last decade.