Congress sweeps Rajasthan in by-polls, BJP concedes defeat

Adjust Comment Print

Charged up by the victory, Congress president Rahul Gandhi tweeted: "Well done Rajasthan Congress!".

At Noapara, the ruling party's candidate Sunil Singh won with 1,11,729 votes.

Bye-elections in one assembly and two Lok Sabha seats were held in Rajasthan on Monday. Trinamool swept the Noapara polls and is steadily on the road to win Uluberia seat.

People in 17 Vidhan Sabha segments out of Rajasthan's 200 constituencies voted in these by-elections.

"The bypoll result clearly shows the undercurrent...what people think..."

Fox to broadcast Thursday Night Football for next five seasons
Fox agreed last month to sell cable channels FX and National Geographic, its movie and TV studio and global assets to Disney . According to early reports, FOX is hoping a news and sports focus would help them as the world of pay-TV is changing.

Meanwhile, in Ajmer the Congress candidates have been maintaining a wide lead against their BJP opponents. The numerically-significant Rajputs have also been seething in the state, first over the "encounter" of gangster Anandpal, a fellow Rajput, and then over the Padmaavat film controversy Some Rajput organisations had announced that they would not vote for the BJP. At 3.30 pm when 83.23% votes had been counted, he was leading his BJP rival by 1,46,925 votes. In Alwar, after 82 percent of the vote count done with, Karan Singh Yadav of the Congress was leading by 144,914 votes. The result of this by-poll has gained prominence in view of the Assembly elections that are due later this year, in about seven months. He added to good measure that "the Vasundhara Raje government hasn't done anything the past four years".

The battle for Ajmer is particularly a prestige battle for Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee (RPCC) chief Sachin Pilot, who represented Ajmer in the Lok Sabha from 2009 to 2014.

All the three seats fell vacant after the deaths of Ajmer MP Sanwar Lal Jat, Alwar MP Chand Nath and Mandalgarh MLA Kirti Kumari.

Incidentally, under Pilot, the Congress has also won a majority of seats in the by-elections to zila parishads, panchayat samitis and municipal wards in Rajasthan.

"The results prove CPI (M) and Congress are non-existent in Bengal and BJP is the only alternative to Trinamool". Mandalgadh Assembly seat, Congress leading by 2012 votes, Congress candidate Vivek Dhakar is leading with 45011, BJPs' Shakti Singh gets 42999.