Your money: Takata air bags recall expands to 3.3 million vehicles

Adjust Comment Print

In the latest round, the U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has ordered the firm to recall more than 3 million additional vehicles according to a report at Bloomberg.

If sources are to be believed, Takata has identified at least 19 automotive industry players that have purchased the airbags, comprising Toyota, Audi, Mercedes-Benz, Tesla, Nissan, Subaru, BMW, Daimler Vans, Mazda, Ford, Mitsubishi, Honda, Jaguar-Land Rover, Fiat Chrysler, and General Motors. Specific models will be provided by automakers and filed with NHTSA later this month. Sources have touted this recall for airbag inflators to be the largest in the history of US automotive industry, which is withdrawing more than 69 million inflators in over 42 million vehicles across the globe.

Takata plead guilty to fraud in February 2017 for covering up the engineering defects in its airbag inflators.

The faulty air bags have resulted in at least 20 deaths and more than 180 injuries worldwide. Older models and those in states with high humidity and temperatures are getting priority.

Debra Messing and more back Catt Sadler
The host said she agreed before turning the conversation back to the Time's Up initiative . I miss Catt Sadler .so we stand with her and that's something that can change tomorrow.

Takata uses the chemical ammonium nitrate to create a small explosion and fill air bags quickly in a crash.

Takata and the vehicle manufacturers will determine which vehicles received the defective inflators either as original or replacement equipment.

NHTSA has said the Takata recalls are unprecedented in size and complexity and have resulted in groundbreaking lessons that will help automakers reach their fix goals. The agency also has the authority to fine automakers that don't make recall repairs in a timely manner. NHTSA says this recall is for select 2013 vehicles that had ever been registered in Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.