Gujarat Government 2017: Complete list of ministers under Vijay Rupani cabinet

Adjust Comment Print

Rupani and some one-and-a-half dozen other ministers were administered the oath of office by Gujarat Governor O.P. Kohli at a grand ceremony in state capital Gandhinagar, attended by Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP chief Amit Shah and chief ministers of BJP-ruled states.

The new faces that were inducted were Kaushikbhai Jamanadas Patel, who had served as Minister of State for energy, urban development departments and cabinet minister of energy, in the earlier BJP governments.

Of the 20 Ministers sworn in Gujarat on Tuesday, 18 are crorepatis, including Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, while three of them has criminal cases registered against them.

Preparations underway for the swearing-in ceremony of the Vijay Rupani government at the secretariat ground in Gandhinagar. MLAs also took oath as ministers. The Prime Minister is to attend the oath-taking ceremony of the newly formed Council of Ministers of the Gujarat Government.

Kabul: Five killed as ISIL bomber targets spy agency
On December 18, iS claimed responsibility for an attack on the intelligence agency's training center in Kabul . Qari Yusouf Ahmadi, a Taliban spokesman, claimed responsibility for the attack in Helmand.

BJP won the recently held assembly elections in the western state where Modi had been the chief minister from 2001 till 2014 when he became the prime minister after the party swept to power in the general elections decimating the Congress party. Apart from that senior BJP leader L.K. Advani and Union Ministers were also present in the function.

Besides Patel, the other Cabinet-rank ministers sworn-in were - Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, RC Faldu, Kaushik Patel, Saurabh Patel, Ganpatsinh Vasava, Jayesh Radadiya, Dilip Thakor and Ishwar Parmar.

Senior BJP leader Nima Acharya, who retained Bhuj seat, is a front-runner among women winners tipped to get a ministerial berth, said the source. BJP bagged 99 seats, whereas the Congress put up an improved performance and secured 77 seats. She is also a three-time Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA).

From winning 32 of 48 seats in Saurashtra region in 2012, the BJP's tally slid to 19 in 2017.