Confirmed: Ireland Placed In Second Tier For UEFA Nations League

Adjust Comment Print

The Republic of Ireland, who beat Wales to get into the World Cup play-off, are also in League B with Northern Ireland.

Chris Coleman's side had been on course to challenge the likes of England, Germany, Spain, Italy and France for the inaugural title in European football's third major global competition but lost out by less than 600 coefficient points.

The four group winners will go forward to UEFA Nations League finals in June 2019 to play for the overall title.

Division A: Germany, Portugal, Spain, Belgium, England, France, Switzerland, Italy, Poland, Iceland, Croatia and the Netherlands.

Each division will be split into four groups of three or four teams, who will play each other.

But, for fairness, any team that wins their Nations League group will not be "promoted" into a play-off in a league above their own.

There are four tiers and nations have been placed with teams of similar ability.

The top four-ranked teams that do not qualify for Euro 2020 will contest a play-off in March 2020, with one finals place on offer.

Sixers sign Joel Embiid to five-year, $148 million max extension
The news will also go down well with 76ers fans who have developed a real love for Embiid both on and off the court. The Sixers will get some salary-cap protection should the center miss significant playing time because of injuries.

Northern Ireland are also in League B, alongside a number of Ireland's recent opponents, Austria, Sweden and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

UEFA first approved the tournament in 2014, and has made a decision to split the 55 countries into four so-called "leagues", based on its coefficient rankings.

A promotion and relegation system will be in force between the leagues with the four winners promoted and the four bottom-placed teams relegated before the second edition of the competition begins in September 2020, after the European Championships.

Today it was announced which teams will feature in the four leagues.

The winners of the four groups in League A will qualify for the Final Four competition.

UEFA claim the main advantage of the new system is that it creates "more meaningful and competitive matches for teams" than the current trend of filling global dates with friendlies.

For example, with League D guaranteed a representative, Azerbaijan, Macedonia, Belarus and Latvia are the favourites to battle it out over a series of one-off contests to join, but not necessarily be competitive in, the finals jamboree. There will be a normal qualifying competition, with two teams going through from each group.

The qualification for Euro 2020 will now now run from March to November 2019, with Dublin hosting the Group draw on 2 December 2018.