Council of the European Union expands sanctions against North Korea

Adjust Comment Print

The EU extended sanctions against the DPRK, adding nine people and four companies, including the state foreign trade Bank of North Korea in the sanctions list.

In a statement Thursday, it says the asset freezes and travel bans were added to the EU's North Korea sanction list to bring the bloc into line with a new U.N. Security Council Resolution.

We will remind, on 5 August the United Nations security Council unanimously adopted a resolution that strengthens sanctions against North Korea.

With the latest measure, the total number on the sanctions list now amounts to 62 individuals and 50 entities, among which "41 persons and 7 entities are designated by the European Union autonomously", the statement said.

Three reasons to get excited for the 2017-18 Premier League season
Perhaps we've got to ensure that all our players give their all and hope that City are off-colour, but it can happen that way. The Red Devils kick off their Premier League campaign with a home clash against West Ham United at Old Trafford on Sunday.

The EU also urged North Korea to immediately halt provocations, while calling on other related countries to seek the denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula through peaceful ways.

The warning is the latest in an exchange of bellicose rhetoric that has heightened concerns about a possible conflict between Washington and Pyongyang. The US orchestrated the unanimous adoption of the resolution in response to the North's two intercontinental ballistic missile tests last month.

The sanctions also include targeted measures against 13 people and entities linked to Pyongyang's nuclear and missile programs.

Trump warned North Korea on Tuesday it will be met with "fire and fury" if it continues to threaten his country.