Tee times, pairings announced for 146th Open Championship

Adjust Comment Print

Sky Sports will have round-the-clock coverage from Royal Birkdale, with a dedicated channel for the 10 days around the third major of the year.

Ireland's Padraig Harrington, who won the last Open at Birkdale in 2008, begins play at 4:36 a.m. (ET) along with American Pat Perez and Belgium's Thomas Pieters.

Shane Lowry, the only other Irish participant this week, will hit the first tee at 10.20am in the company of Americans Brandt Snedeker and JB Holmes.

Following them is reigning champion Henrik Stenson, American sensation Jordan Spieth and Players victor Si Woo Kim at 9.47am.

Ian Poulter features on a list of strong English contenders in the morning wave, with his 8.03am tee time coming between Matt Fitzpatrick (7.41am), former Masters champion Danny Willett (7.30am) and Andrew "Beef" Johnston (11.36am).

'Battle of the Alphas'? 9 Bastille Day Trump/Macron Handshake Images
Since the election of Donald Trump as the American president previous year , he has made several friends in Europe and beyond. Asked if she had meant to insult Trump's physique this week, Bishop's office did not immediately respond.

The42 is on Instagram!

World number one Dustin Johnson will partner Rory McIlroy and South Africa's Charl Schwartzel, with the group getting underway at 1448 local time. All players tee off the first hole.

England's Chris Wood, and Americans Mark O'Meara and Ryan Moore will be the first group away at 06:35 BST.

The Swede stormed to the Claret Jug previous year at Royal Troon after a final round of 63 helped him edge out Phil Mickelson as he claimed his maiden major in record-breaking fashion.