Presidential Poll 2017: Voting begins at Odisha Assembly

Adjust Comment Print

Altogether 403 assembly members are eligible to cast their votes in the Presidential polls in the state of which BJP and its ally partners have 325 members, followed by 47 of the SP, 19 of the BSP, 7 of Congress, one of RLD and three Independents. Ballot papers are of two colours-green for MPs and pink for MLAs.

The MLAs or MPs will not be allowed to take pen, pencil or mobile phones inside the polling area besides strict security arrangement would be in place during the elections. The term of present incumbent Pranab Mukherjee comes to an end on the 24th of this month. "When member come out of voting chamber special pen will be taken back by polling staff and would be handed over his/her pen if he/she was carrying", the note added.

He also served Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) for 12 years (1994-2006). They will be given a violet ink pen that carries a unique serial number before they enter the voting hall.

In the presidential polling on Monday, votes cast by any other pen is likely to lead to "invalidation of the vote at the time of counting under Rule 31 (1)(d) of Presidential and Vice Presidential Elections Rules 1974".

Roger Federer wins Wimbledon again, continues to break records
I wasn't sure if I'd be in a final again after a year ago , especially some tough losses to Novak in 2014 and 2015. It may not have mattered, considering how dominant Federer was at Wimbledon and throughout the year.

In another first, the poll watchdog has also prepared special posters carrying dos and don'ts for the voters.

The meetings have been convened to educate MLAs on casting their votes in the elections. The Election Commission (EC) has appointed several observers to invigilate the conduct of elections.

A total 32 polling stations - one in Parliament House Room No 62 and rest one each in state legislative assemblies - have been set for the election that will see NDA's Ram Nath Kovind pitted against opposition candidate Meira Kumar. The President will be elected by the Electoral college comprising of all elected members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, Legislative Assemblies of states and Assemblies of Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry.