IPL10 preview: RPS, KXIP will put up last effort for play-offs

Adjust Comment Print

Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) skipper Steve Smith today won toss against made a decision to bowl first against Kings XI Punjab in the 55th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium here.

Mumbai Indians (MI) and Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) will face each other in the Qualifier 1 on May 16 at the Wankhede Stadium.

Mumbai, a two-time champion, has one more chance to make the final, when it plays the victor of Wednesday's (Thursday NZT) eliminator between defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders on Friday.

Parthiv Patel, who waged a lone battle with a 40-ball 52, admitted they lost too many wickets in quick succession as a result of which they lost the momentum.

Smith was also impressed with bowlers performance specially Washington Sundar. Two of those have come against Rising Pune Supergiant, MI's opponents in today's Qualifier 1 at the Wankhede Stadium.

Labour's risky United Kingdom manifesto requires Brexit context
The Government would ensure "safe staffing levels" on every train - reversing the current trend of having driver-only services. Mr Corbyn said: "One of our key commitments is a Crossrail for the North, from Manchester across to Newcastle".

There were another two sixes from Dhoni in the last over from Jasprit Bumrah and Tiwary was run out off the final ball in a dramatic end to the innings after making 58 from only 48 deliveries. Slower wicket, so was hard to time the ball. "We want to come out here and do right things as a batting, bowling and fielding group". Mahendra Singh Dhoni changed gears in the last 12 balls, hitting four sixes, and, along with Tiwary, getting 41 runs for the team in the two overs.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Lendl Simmons, Mitchel Johnsohn, Mitchell McClenghan, Nitish Rana, Parthiv Patel, Saurabh Tiwary, Shreyas Gopal, Tim Southee, Lasith Malinga, Krunal Pandya, Keiron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Asela Gunaratne, Harbhajan Singh, Hardik Pandya, Jagdish Suchith, Jaspreet Bumrah, Jos Buttler, Karn Sharma and Vinay Kumar. Rohit Sharma was undone by another howler, given out lbw despite a thick inside edge.

Thakur then removed Shaun Marsh, Eoin Morgan was run out and Rahul Tewatia and Glenn Maxwell were dismissed in the space of four balls to leave Kings XI five down at the end of the powerplay.

RPS don't really have a foreign recruit who could fill in the big boots of the Englishman and skipper Steve Smith admitted that someone will have to put his hand up in the remaining matches. "Hopefully, the other guys will stand up for us". But none of them batted at least 12 to 15 overs On Maxwell: We missed Amla, for sure.